Weavings

For my final project I chose to complete a series of weavings to show the plastic pollution, I chose this technique as it shows how the plastic is entangled into our environment.

After experimenting with layering and painting onto the plastic I didn’t like the idea of having to buy plastic for the project as it defeated the main purpose and felt like a contradiction. Although I liked the appearance of the piece and it showed how our environment is becoming “made of plastic” I thought that having a ‘story’ of the plastic pollution getting worse would work better as it would display what is happening and has happened.

I began by completing some test pieces experimenting with the thread and plastic, the first one that I developed I really liked however the colour scheme appeared more like the sea than a landscape due to the blue colours. I gathered more green and brown toned threads and started to developing more scenes to appear like a landscape/mountain range. I really liked the outcome and liked the vibrant colours I wanted the colours to get darker as the the pieces went on. My aim was for the last weavings to be less vibrant to show what is happening to the environment. I would’ve also liked to complete a series looking at plastic in the ocean although I chose to look at land as it is less talked about among communities. All the plastic that I gathered for the project was from local business that use products with plastic that cannot be recycled.

Leave a comment